About Exam

IAS (Prelims) About Exam Civil service examination, termed as IAS (Indian Administrative Service) is conducted by UPSE for the recruitment of various administrative jobs. IAS is counted among the most renowned competitive exam conducted at national level & thousands of candidates appear in this exam every year. Candidates appearing for the Civil Services are required to note that the exam is likely to comprise of two stages which include Civil Services (Preliminary) objective type exam for selection of candidates for main exam. The second stage of Civil Services (Main) exam (written and interview) will be conducted for the final selection of the candidates for various posts and services.


Candidates have to fulfil all the following the criteria:

1. Citizen of India or subject of Nepal or Bhutan or Tibetan Refugee or PIO

2. Age between 21-32 years

3. Candidate should have a bachelor’s degree or equivalent from university recognised by legislature

Maximum number of attempts:

•General Category: 6 Attempts

•OBC Category: 9 Attempts

•SC/ST Category: No Limit

Exam Process

Candidates aspiring for UPSC Civil Services should fill out the application form at upsc.gov.in. All the IAS aspirants have to register separately for Prelims and Mains exam. 

•Application Form is available on www.upsconline.nic.in

•Application Fee is Rs. 100/-

•SC/ST and Females can register for free.

Steps to Apply for IAS Exam 

Step 1: Registration Part I

Visit the official website and click on the link to apply for UPSC Civil Services. Enter the details and click on Submit button. You will be redirected to the payment step.                                               

Step 2: Payment of Application Fee

Choose the payment method:

Offline mode: Download the Pay-in-slip provided on the page and pay cash at the nearest branch of State Bank of India during working hours of the bank.

Online mode: Payment through debit/credit card or net banking

Note: This step is not applicable for candidates who are exempted from paying the fee.

Step 3 Registration Part II

Post receipt of the fee payment; fill the other details of the IAS Application form. Enter the choice of IAS Exam Centre. Enter the qualification and other communication details asked correctly. Post verification, click on submit to proceed to the next step

Step 4 Uploading the Images

Upload your photograph and image of the signature. Click on “I Agree” to approve of the declaration and submit the complete IAS Online Form.                    


Objective Questions                                               Total Duration: 4 Hours





Paper I

General Study

100 questions

200 marks

Paper II

Civil Services Aptitude Test

80 questions

200 marks



180 Questions

400 Marks



  • Panaji
  • Shimla
  • Vijayawada
  • Dispur
  • Kochi
  • Siliguri
  • Shillong
  • Itanagar
  • Port Blair
  • Puducherry
  • Agartala
  • Srinagar
  • Tirupati
  • Kolkata
  • Dehradun
  • Varanasi
  • Gorakhpur
  • Ghaziabad
  • Gautam Buddha Nagar
  • Bareilly
  • Aligarh
  • Agra
  • Warangal
  • Hyderabad
  • Vellore
  • Madurai
  • Coimbatore
  • Udaipur
  • Jodhpur
  • Ajmer
  • Ludhiana
  • Sambalpur
  • Cuttack
  • Kohima
  • Aizawl
  • Imphal West
  • Thane
  • Pune
  • Nagpur
  • Mumbai
  • Jabalpur
  • Indore
  • Gwalior
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Kozhikode
  • Mysore
  • Dharwad
  • Ranchi
  • Jammu
  • Bilaspur
  • Faridabad
  • Rajkot
  • Ahmedabad
  • Patna


News & Articles


Planning to choose Civil services as a career option? Read on for more details.

  • 15-06-2017
  • Exams
  • 0
  • Posted by- Neetika Saigal
  • 70
The Civil Service Examination (CSE), conducted by the UPSC is not only considered as one of the most admired posts in India but is considered as one o... Read More..

Related Institute

placement placement placement

Your Selection

Remove All